Cloudy water? Water Clarifier safe to use?

LewisDunbar

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Heya all! I'm fairly new to the axie scene - and have mainly been lurking on these forums for bits and peices of advice. However, I was just wondering; is Tetra Aqua Water Clarifier safe for use with Axolotls?

I ask simply because my water is slightly cloudy - I use Large gravel as a substrate, and do my very best to siphon out any waste food. I use a filter with a spray bar (although this filter is rather new [about a week]) So it could just be that my cycle has not established itself properly yet - especially since the tank was only aged for about 3 days before adding my axies about 3 weeks ago.

I usually conduct 30% water changes every 2 days or so, to try and bring down the cloudiness level, and keep everything cool - but it always ends up the same cloudiness.

I don't have any readings for ammonia or nitrite/nitrate - however, I can tell you that the PH is 7.0.

- Anyhoo! I was intending to use the water clarifier to clear up the water a touch while the cycle settles in.
If anyone could help me, I'd be very grateful!
Thank you!
~ Lewis ^^

The tank is probably had to start it's cycle again because it wasn't cycled for long enough, therefore if you did do an ammonia test you'd probably find it has gone right up.
I don't know whether the chemical is safe because I don't know it's ingredients, but, personally I'd steer clear of any chemicals if you can, as the tank is re-cycling you will need to do daily 20% water changes until the ammonia and nitrite levels lower, it's really good to get hold of some testing kits if you can.
to avoid chemicals let the water you are using to do the changes stand for a couple of days to dechlorinate it, much healthier than packing it full of chemicals;)

Thanks very much ^^ I'll steer clear of using it then, and I'll leave a few buckets out for my next water change! Thanks very much for the advice!

~ Lewis