Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Hey, new guy here...

Heorte

Reaction score
Hello Everyone
I'm new to Axolotl
I have two little ones whom I share with my partner (I'm trying to get her to join)
Hime & Hide

I go to college its boring as hell I only joined to look after someone
I am a huge fan of Doom Metal and J-rock
I have my lip pierced three times my tongue once and my ear several times I also shave off my eyebrows
I play Bass guitar and I sing (I can play various little melodies on keyboard)

Im going to detail my tank and its contents please let me know if im doing something wrong or i need some more stuff

I have a glass tank filled with sand wich I rinsed before adding it to the tank
I have a manta filter (I fear its too powerful because they dont seem to be able to swim to good when its on going to try and get a smaller one tomorrow)
I use a decholrinater with added Alo vera
a Log ornimant for them to hide in
and a plant ornimant
I feed them frozen bloodworm

They seem to be happy as when the filter is off they like to swim around so I tend to only leave the filter on for periods at a time

So nice to meet you all I look forward to conversing

blueberlin

2010 Research Grant Donor
Reaction score
Hello Heorte,

The only comments I have to what you wrote are that you will need more than one hiding place (e.g., hollow log ornament) because you have more than one axolotl, and that it is better to feed them different kinds of things for a varied diet (they do well with earthworms, which should be easy to find).

Other than that, I just want to say welcome to the Forum!

-Eva

gr33neyes

Reaction score
Hi there and welcome to the site.