Tank

tenoch

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I'm looking to get a single axolotl this summer and have been looking around for tanks. I remember reading on here that approximately 10 gallons are needed for a single axolotl, as a student this puts the set up of a glass tank completely out of my budget. However, I came across the Marchioro Aquazoo plastic tanks for very reasonable prices on exotic pets. My question is would one of these be appropriate for housing an axolotl?

http://www.exotic-pets.co.uk/marchioro-aquazoo-plastic-tanks.html

Thanks for the help. (Cleaning and daily water changes wouldn't be an issue, as a student I'm always around, have housemates who can help occassionally etc. and loads of free time)

Hi Tenoch,

10 Gallons is the minimum for one axolotl, the tank needs to be at least about 18 inches long (48cm) - axies wander around the base of the tank - you need to have enough room for them to 'blunder through'.

The link you've attached - you would need the Aquazoo 6 - 48x31x31cm @ £18.34 / You may get away with the Aquazoo 5 - 43x31x31cm @ £11.68.

Axolotls can grow to any size from 7-14 inches long and unlike fish they cannot control how big they get.

Have you considered plastic tubs? They can look quite impressive and are very cheap - I've attached a thread to give you an idea what I mean:

http://www.caudata.org/forum/showthread.php?t=49415

Cheers Jacq.

Last edited:
Just as a comment on fish being able to control their growth - I disagree with that. Fish in restricted areas may not reach full size, but they usually develop bone and tissue deformities in the process and have a much shorter lifespan. The average goldfish has the capacity to live up to 30 years and exceed 2 feet in length, but you don't see that happening too often in a small tank. Although this is an axolotl forum, I'd hate to see misinformation given about another type of animal ;)