Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

My poor Elennor

2inkaha

Reaction score
:(Hi guys, I was wondering if anybody could help me......On the weekend i brought my Axolotl (elennor) and lovely new 90 liter tank, I thought that she would be sooo happy in there, but NO she hates it (I think). Anyway she wont eat, everytime I open the lid she gos crazy and trys to leep out, then she swims around smaking herself into the glass?????? Also she keeps flicking her gills down? Im a bit new to this and was hoping you guys could please help me out.:(

blueberlin

2010 Research Grant Donor
Reaction score
If you just brought Elennor home this weekend, she is most likely still "freaked out" by the move. She is just in unfamiliar surroundings. If nothing else is obviously wrong with her, she will just need some time to adjust. It is very common for axolotls in new surroundings to refuse food and to hide or to "go crazy" if you look over or into their tank or reach into the water, etc.

It is also normal for the gills to flip back - this is how they breathe. Gills that indicate stress are curved forward toward the nose - and they still flip back and forth.

-Eva

2inkaha

Reaction score
No Ive had her for about 3 months, I just broughht her a new tank because she has growen so fast that i felt sorry for her in the other tank:eek:. Thanks for that, why I asked bout the gills was because they just usually standing up rite just floating around (hope that makes sense haha). So should i still put food into her tank or just leave it for a few days?

blueberlin

Reaction score