Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Question: Rescued newt just laid

lestat

Reaction score
Last week I was given a newt. They were keeping the poor thing in a little deli cup for several days and were feeding her fish food. I'm still pretty new to newts (although I have a lot of experience with frogs and reptiles) but she looked a bit thin to me (hip bones showing = thin?) and wasn't eating very well. I went and got her some worms and as soon as she saw them she changed from a listless little newt into a ferocious miniature alligator, complete with a few death rolls as she attacked the worms.

I think I've properly IDed her as a Chinese Fire Belly Newt. I'm also rather proud to say I properly sexed her as a female, even before she laid eggs. ;) Tonight when I was cleaning her water, I found a bunch of eggs throughout the plants. I don't know if she's been housed with other newts. These guys are different from the other herps I keep, so I have a few questions.

1. Should there be a little more 'padding' around her hips? She looks a little thin to me.

2. Do newts breed like frogs? (ie, external fertilization, so the male must be present when eggs are laid for them to be fertile) Or more like geckos? (ie, internal, so these eggs may be fertile)

3. This question only applies if they're internally fertilized, since all the eggs have dark centers. I was told that dark centers means they're fertile, and white means they're infertile. Is that true?