salt bath freak out

taper

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Display Name
Cole Thompson
I think one of my hongongenis has devoloped limb rot, and the other one has a sore between the body and front leg. What started out as a few missing toes ,on the first newt, has devolpoed into a missing foot and one toe on another foot. It is very active, eats well and rarely comes out of the water.
The other newt has had this sore since I got it and it has not gotten any worse. It stays mostly on land and recenty stopped eating from tweezers , but will eat when I am not in view.

I gave the newt ,with the missing foot, a salt bath just now and after a freak out started floating on its back . I really thought I killed it and imediatly rinsed it off in its tank and he now seems to be fine. I used a half a teaspoon of Nutrafin Aquarium salt diluted in 2 cups of warm water. Now I am afraid to try it with the other newt. Do you suppose I used too much salt? This is my first time doing a salt bath and I do not want to kill my newts trying to help them. Should I dirt quarantine them instead and use some sort of antibiotic? I do have a good relationship with my vet, they have no experience with newts or amphibians, nor does any other vet around here, but would give me perscriptions for suff I could use.
The tank they are in is a 29 gallon that just finished cycling and I feed chopped worms from tweezers so the tank is kept clean.
I got them from an aquantence that had them mixed with fire bellied toads and he had gotten them from a pet store that also had them with fire bellied toads. I had originally thought that they just had injuries from the frogs and that keeping them in a safe, clean, cool, quaranteen tank would help, but now am quite convinced it is more serious. Any suggestions or help will be greatly appreciated thanks.