Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Question: Is Engleburt sick?

subjonno

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I'm still a newbie to all this and was wondering if my Axolotl Engleburt is sick.

Engleburt has a lump just under her tail and right behind her hind leg. She also swims around like she is stressed or agitated. I have very fine stones in the tank so I don't think she swallowed a stone or anything.

I have photos but have no idea how to post them up on these forums lol

Once I work out how to put photos up I will :)
:confused:

Thanks
Jonno

Jacquie

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Hi Jonno and welcome aboard!

This link provides instruction on how to post pictures to the forum:
http://www.caudata.org/forum/showthread.php?t=55492

If you could also advise of your water parameters (Ammonia/Nitrite/Nitrate/PH/Temperature) this will assist us in ascertaining what could be up with your axie.

How large is your tank?

I would replace those small stones with either sand or bare bottom tank. Gravel of any size smaller than 2cm in diameter can cause impaction or discomfort to the axolotl when ingested.

The lump behind tail could mean that she is actually a male. Male axolotls have an enlarged cloaca, the female does not.

But if you could post a photo of the 'lump' just to be on the safe side however and advise of the age/size of the axolotl, that would be very helpful.

Cheers Jacq.

subjonno

Reaction score
Ok hopefully these pictures work and aren't too big to view.

001.JPG

002.JPG

003.JPG

004.JPG

Are axolotl eggs white? Cause I have these weird black balls in the plants, they have a moldy web around them, sorry the pictures aren't that clear.

005.JPG

006.JPG