Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Amazing stories!

slowfoot

Reaction score
I thought I'd start a topic for anyone to share their amazing/funny/weird stories about the newts and salamanders you've known. I've got a couple ;)

When I was a graduate student, my (future) husband was working with Ambystoma macrodactylum. He had large numbers of larvae to keep and feed. One of these little guys developed a severe case of bloat, so my husband was going to euthanize him. I decided to give the tiny thing a second chance, and I set him up in a little half-land half-water terrarium in my office. Well, one day he just disappeared. After a few weeks of not seeing the little guy, I assumed he had died in the tank.

I eventually forgot about Little Bloaty. Months passed, and I got notice that I was moving to a new office. While I was packing, I took that old terrarium out from under all the books that had been stacked on top of it and started dumping out the old dry dirt and junk inside. A clump of dirt - dry as a bone - fell on the floor and broke open. Inside was a tiny, tiny macrodactylum metamorph. I'd never seen a smaller one. Amazingly, he was alive!

To make a long story short (too late!), he grew into a beautiful, very friendly (probably because of all the hand-feeding), and healthy salamander. Eventually, we renamed him Killer because of his viciousness with his food. He also did little tricks, like balancing on his hind legs and tail to beg for treats. Sadly, he died quite unexpectedly a couple of years ago, but we'd had a good long time together before that.