Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

New axolotl didn't look too healthy, your thoughts?

Rammoth

Reaction score
Hi all,

Like I said in my introduction topic. I've only just bought this axolotl. It didn't seem too healthy (although I'm not an expert) and I hope I can get it back to good shape.

Since it's been in his new tank for just 2 hours a lot can still happen to it, but I'd like to post a few pictures for some impressions and help as to if it's feeling okay and if there's anything I can do for it now.

Also, please take note of some weird black spot on the thin part of it's tail (not sure what else I should call it).

I've sharpened the picture up just to point it out more clearly. Please have a look at these pictures and tell me what you think.
004edit.jpg

007.jpg

006.jpg

005.jpg

My apologies for the quality of these pictures.
Thank you for your help in advance! It's greatly appreciated.

blueberlin

2010 Research Grant Donor
Reaction score
Hi Rammoth,

Unfortunately I can't tell much from the photos at all. Your axolotl's gills are not curved forward and its tail is not bent, so it is not showing obvious signs of stress. It also does not look too thin. The spot looks like a bruise from a partially-healed injury, I think?

Is it possible for you to make sharper photos? Although you may not want to be moving the axolotl around a lot as it is new to this environment, I find it easier to take clearer pictures if the axolotl is put into a smaller container (like a clear glass bowl).

-Eva

Rammoth

Reaction score