Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Illness/Sickness: i think i did something very bad.

italianprincess

Reaction score
i know we already have posts about floating axolotls, mine is floating, she cannot sit on the bottom, her whole back end floats. But i'm very very new at this and i had a bucket sitting for tomorrows partial water change, as the tank is still cycling it had been there about six hours, as i don't yet have any water testing kits, i got really worried and upset and in my haste to help her i preformed the water change after the bucket had only been sitting approximatley six hours. i've made it worse haven't i? what can i do! she's a juvenile and when i poured the new water in, her boyfriend bit her, so i think i've really scared them. i bought her four days ago, and she was fed pellets in a tank with small gravel, is it the pet shops fault and not mine? my tank has HUGE rocks in it, they can't be swallowed. the other axolotl in the same tank seems to be perfectly healthy. i think thats all the information, please help!

Last edited:

froggy

Site Contributor
Reaction score
Hi Italian Princess
First of all don't panic! If the other axolotl is still OK then the water change hasn't done any damage. Look for some information on http://www.axolotl.org/ (the axie part of this site) - particularly at this point http://www.axolotl.org/faq.htm#45