Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

To Move or Not Move

little high

Reaction score
Hi All,
I'm relatively new to all this, but I am the proud and loving owner of 4 beautiful axies. My sad sad proplem is that, my partner has been offered a job unexpectatly too good to pass up. It means I would be moving to Mackay in central-northern Queensland, a whole days drive away. I was wondering how I could transport my gorgeous family with me. If there was a way.
Or am I better off giving them to a loving home with all there awesome gear?
How big a container does an axie need?
What is the minumum size container or bucket an axie can live in for 2-3mths maximmum?

Just a few questions if anyone can help me brainstorm so I can make a better informed decision. I really don't wanna leave them behind.

Is a 2hour road trip in a cooler just as bad as a 12 hour one? (I could do water changes along the way even)
Any sugestions apreciated cheers Nat

Jacquie

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Hi Nat,

Brainstorming...Here we go!

Transporting:

- I would put each axie in a container of their own (ie. Icecream container/tupperware/storage tubs/etc) or if pushed for containers perhaps put two in the same container. Ensure the containers are secure with a sealable lid.
- Arrange and place all containers in a large esky (I note that the weather in Queensland is not hot so the tub temperatures should be fine).
- If the weather is hot, I would put a couple of ice packs in the esky to keep it cool in there.

I don't think a water change during the trip will be necessary.

Temporary Home in Mackay: