First time feeder fish

AGreenDarkness

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
AGreenDarkness
Squishy does seem to be feeling better now days, and since I was at my dads I asked him to buy me some worms to take back to school with me for Squish to eat.

She normally eats earth worms but they are hard to come by in my college town so when I run out and can't get anymore she has to eat her amphibian pellets. And she hates them.

We went to the pet store to get worms, but they were out. So I got 10 feeder fish. They look like little tiny guppies. Not any bigger than the pieces of worm I normally feed Squish. Does this sound good? I was thinking I would toss them in her tank and she could munch of them for a while. Or should I keep them in a separate bowl and then plop one in every once in a while?

I have read a bit about other people giving their axies feeder fish, but this is my first time. Any advice is welcome. Thanks!

The most important thing is to quarantine them for at least 30 days, so you'll most likely need a seperate tank/bowl for the fish. I'd recommend mabey putting 2 or so in as putting them all in might lead to the Axolotl being overwhelmed and mabey even losing abit of it's gills. So once you've made sure they're healthy and they've all been quarantined for the appropriate time, you can just plop them in with the Axolotl. It'll take around a day or two for the fish to be eaten.

Awesome. Thank you! hopefully Squishy will be patient for the time it takes to make sure they are healthy. Right now I am like "look a pellet! a pellet Squishy! a pellet!" and she looks at me like "I want something wiggly :-("

Walmart almost always carries earthworms. I've bought them there year-round. Try looking there.

I am in luck! a girl who lives in another dorm on campus has a carnivorous fish which she gives feeder fish and she offered to let me have some of hers. She keeps them in a separate tank and swears that they were all healthy.