Rocks, Gravel, or Sand? A Newb needs help.

Monocle

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello all, I'm a complete newb who's trying her best to set up a great tank for, hopefully, one juvenile axie in the near future. I'm currently debating on what tank floor covering I should get. I know I don't want to leave the tank floor bare seeing as it's glass, and I'm uncertain as to what the best form is. I already know that gravel causes issues, but what is the best type of sand?

Thank you for your help already!

A bare floor isn't actually that bad, the only problem is grip for the 'lotls - their chubby hands cannot grasp anything.
Sands come in many forms, the most common ones are playsand and fine gravel that is basically just like brown sand (both the same size) to begin with sand can be quite troublesome for a new tank... it must be washed vigorously beforehand and can take some time to settle to the floor.

Playsand (used in children's sandpits) can be bought at your local hardware store, aquarium sand can be purchased at your local pet/aquarium store and so can fine gravel.
Sand works nicely because it is easy to spot clean (with a pipette or turkey baster) it's not harmful if your axolotl ingests some as it can easily be passed, and overall it is more comfortable than spikey big rocks when your 'lotl takes a nap :eek:

I would say playsand is the best substrate. Its a nice colour and its also not expensive like sand from aquariums often is!
If you choose sand, the best way to wash it is to put it in an old pillowcase so all the fine sand which will cloud your water will be removed through the pillowcase. This will reduce the cloudyness of the water when you add the sand.

Playsand is great and really easy to keep clean. However, remember you only need less than an inch on the bottom of the tank because otherwise you can get dangerous gas pockets trapped in it.

Thank you everyone for replying! It looks like play sand is going to be my best option :D