Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

heyyy everyone from PA

briannashea

Reaction score
hey fellow animal loversssss
I joined because I recently fell in love with axolotls and I'm hoping to get one soon and wanted to get lots of information before I get one. I'm a college student studying zoology and I currently live with my 2 dogs, a chihuahua and a rottweiler-german shep mutt, and my very talented and outgoing red ear slider turtle. I also recently had a baby uromastyx who sadly passed away as he was sold to me with a parasite but I'm getting a new one soon.

any axy owners or other salamander owners who find other species more enjoyable as pets please post lots and lots of info - I've been doing research and such but I think it's better to hear from devoted pet parents like me who register on lots of forums to talk to other people about their pets :)

I have a spare 10 gal tank and lots of people have told me it's big enough for an axy, but if not I'd like to fill it so what kind of newt or 'mander do you recommend?

Jacquie

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Hi Briannashea,

Welcome to the forum!

In my zoo I have eight axolotls, two dogs, two cats, one peachface, and five fish and love them all in their individual mad ways...most of the time. :rolleyes:

A ten gallon tank will house one axolotl fine, but no more than one.

If you haven't read this already, it tells you everything on the care of an axolotl: http://www.axolotl.org/

Cheers Jacq.

Jennewt

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score