Question: First newt/Salamander?

Jesthing

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Display Name
Jessica
I'm sorry if this question was asked before but I wasn't sure what to search for to find this.. New to this forum :[.

I am looking to get a terrestrial newt or salamander that would be happy in a 10~ gallon tank. I've had reptiles before but no amphibians. I know general information about them as I am a biology student and vertebrate zoology class is what sparked my interest in them! I just need advice on which specific types of salamanders or newts would be comfortable in that size habitat.

Thank you!

The easiest to keep in my opinion is an Axolotl, which would require 10 gallons each. There are dozens of others you could keep... a Tiger Salamander, Fire Bellies, etc. I'm naming all the easier to keep ones. If your looking for a group, mabey some Plethodontidae or Salamandridae. You'd need to check out the requirments for any one your considering though. If it's your first amphibian though I'd recommend simple, easy to care for, and doscile. It's really a case of looking through the gallery, choosing a species you like and checking out what it needs and if it's relatively easy to keep and you could meet it's requirments. Have fun. ;)

Ian

Just found myself a 20 gallon tank! Should I get two of whichever species I pick? I've seen a lot of people have more than one but I don't know much about their social behavior.

It depends on what you're going for. You could keep 2 axolotls in a 20 gallon tank. You could keep 2 tigers in a 20 gallon. You could keep a whole herd of Chinese Firebelly newts. Most caudates aren't 'social' in a sense that they need company, but most aren't aggressive either. You can keep a group of them together. Depending on the species, this can lead to breeding.