Illness/Sickness: very ill axy

dragginthru

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone

Im a newb on here looking for help for my axy.
He has not been wanting to eat over the last week or two, but my friend (his previous owner) said that was not a real issue and he often didnt eat for quite long periods when he had him (hes about 8 yrs old now).

He often hovers near the top of the tank but on my arrival home on weds night he was floating diagonally (one leg in, one out of the water) not really moving. Also I noted white "spikes" soft looking on his dorsal fin or whatever thats called, so I went to the pet shop and got him some antifungicide (well thats what the guy called it but its actually bactericide called myxazin, which he says is fine for them as he used to own one.

Anyway today I get back and he's in much worse shape. His gills and fins have nearly eroded away, and his extremities seem red and ulcerated, possibly necrotic looking. His limbs look swollen and his body does a bit. Also he has a very "dotty" texture under the skin (like white hundreds and thousands) that I did not recall him having.

I did do a large water change a week ago, but he had stopped eating before that. I cleaned the biological filter sponge just rinsing it out in some old tank water, and I dechlorinated the new water. I put in about 2/3 new water but I thought that was OK.

Im pretty sure he is very ill, im continuing the water treatment at present but is there more I should do? Do I need to be at a vets?

Thanks
Gazz

I would reccommend putting him in a container with just enough fresh dechlorinated water to cover his back and sticking him in the fridge to buy you enough time for someone with more knowledge about axies than I to chime in. I am not sure if that medicine is safe for them or not so I would advise you to also quit using it, pet shops are notorious for giving incorrect information. I sure hope the axolotl pulls through for you.

G'day Gazz,