Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Salamandra Health??? Bloating/constipation in salamandra

coolsalamandra

Reaction score
Hello,

I am a long time Salamandra hobbyist but with everything I’ll be the 1st to admit I can always learn more about them. I’ve been keeping Salamandra off and on now for about 14 years and about 3 years ago got back into them in a big way.

My current collection consist of:
S. s. terrestris ( Solling yellow and Solling red)
S. s. gigliolii
S. s. gallaica (Coimbra, Salvatierra, Serra de Grandola, Serra de Arrabida, Sintra)
S. s. Algira
S. s. Corsica
S. s. Salamandra (stripe form)

I would like to ask if anyone else keeping/breeding salamandra has experienced bloating/constipation in their salamandra. It seems that it can affect all salamandra but strangely I have noticed it in S. s. Corsica the most often. I currently have 1 that has not had a bowl movement in over 3 months now. It is extremely bloated but still eats and appears to be healthy other wise. The diet that I feed in varied and calcium is given as well.
Any thoughts??? Suggestions???

Please reply or contact me directly: Coolsalamandra@aol.com

Thanks
Dave

John

Founder
Staff member
Reaction score
What substrate are you using with them? What else is in the container? Is there any moss?

benw

Reaction score
Hi

Im going to guess you keep them on paper towels, so in theory they havent ingested anytrhing there, apart from towel, which SHOULD pass through ok, so my interest in in the calcium, and possible build ups in the gut,
How often do you suppliment?

Ben

coolsalamandra

Reaction score