Question: Is she a white albino?

kiwitwist

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Sarah
Hey, haven't checked up on this in a while. A while back, I raised 13 axolotls out of 30 eggs to maturity. Half were wild type, and began to cannibalize each other, the other half, I believe were white albino. Unfortunately, I only know the good healthy state of 4 of those 13 I raised, all of them albinos. I wanna ask to just make sure they are white albinos, after I post a picture. I was thinking about breeding the one I gave to my mother, which is a female (I think) she's pretty large and healthy. It just so happens that I work in a lab that raises daphnia and little amphipod-like shrimpy things, so it's quite tempting to want to raise some again. I was wondering what type would be the best mate for her if I wanted to go for non-wild type offspring. I do NOT want to deal with cannibalism again, it just broke my heart! Anyway, I think this girl is a white albino. I know this about her parents: mother was a luec and father was a gold albino. I may have access to one of her siblings (though not sure of the other three's sexes), but I didn't really want to inbreed, so I'd like to find a suitable mate that isn't related.

Her (Sixheart's) album is here: http://s7.photobucket.com/albums/y266/wldkiwi274/Ginui/Axies/secondbatch/sixheart/

She is white when you look at her, has red eyes, and her gill branches are iridescent. In the pics she looks a little yellowish, but I think it's just the water, when it is freshly cleaned she looks a lot more white. She's definitely not as yellow as a gold albino.

looks like a white albino to me .

Yes she is.

Regarding the cannibalism; unfortunately it will happen no matter what the parents are is the babies, but it is important to make sure that they are well fed and and not to confined. When they get larger, they should be seperated into sizes to help minimise eating each other.

Have fun!!