what salt do i use in salt baths????

hanniebumblebee

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Display Name
hannie bee
Hey, my axie Miso has really thick white fungus on one of her gills, I'm thinking that its time for a few salt baths but my axies fungus usually clears up on its own so I've never done any salt bathing before :S. Is regular table salt ok or do I have to use special aquarium salt??? I know its a common thread but I've looked through and I really don't understand what salt to use :( please help... Hanniex

Hi Hannie,

Regular table salt is fine as long as it does not also include flouride or iodine. The salt that you use in a dishwasher can also be used.

A question: do you know why your axolotls keep getting fungus?

-Eva

Oh My God thank you !!, Miso has fungus because I had to do a pretty brutal tank move about a week ago and because I took most of the tank water out (which had just been changed) I think I must have thrown the bio cycle in my tank mixed with the stress of the move. They used to get fungus all the time when I fed them blood worm, as it used to rot in the tank but since I've moved on to little fishes they have stopped getting it since the water quality has been better and they have both gotten much bigger so I'm thinking that little frozen fish are the way to go!! thank you for all your help. Hannie xxx

Fish isn't really good as a 'complete' diet for an axolotl. Have you thought about other foods? Here's a link that might help you- http://www.caudata.org/cc/articles/foods.shtml