Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Her Eyes have gone?!?

bobe70

Reaction score
My axolotl has not been eating and been very inactive for about 4 days now... and today i noticed that her eyes look clear, almost as if they are not there anymore!

I know this sounds odd (or maybe not!) but im sure i can see right through her, in one eye and out of the other??

This really isnt meant to sound like a joke. Is this possible? :confused:

geosheets

Reaction score
I'm not gonna be much help on the eye issue as I'm new to axies myself but some water parameters may help diagnose why/what is going on... what are your readings for ammonia, nitrites, nitrates, ph, and temperature?

Kal El

Reaction score
G'day Bobe,

Could you please post a photo of your axolotl, in particular, its eyes? But, by the description you have provided, it seems like you're describing cloudy eyes, which is a symptom of illness. The common causes of cloudy eyes include*:

- Injury. Is your axolotl housed with any other aquatic species? Are there any sharp objects that could lacerate the axolotl's delicate skin? Axolotls do not have the best eye sight, and so minimising potential hazards is key to preventing decor-related injuries.

- Infection. Have you introduced any new aquatic speices without quarantining them for at least 30 days? Is your axolotl also exhibiting a fungal infection? Fungal infections are usually secondary to primary infections, which can be bacterial or viral. In other words, the axolotl's immune system has been weakened, thus, paving the way for a fungal infection.

- Diet. What are you feeding your axolotl? Try feeding earthworms that are gutloaded, as these are most nutritious.