Question: Paddletail newt question

gpd414

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm new to amphibians but kept several aquariums for years. I decided to try something new and picked up 3 paddletail newts. I have had them for about 1 month in a 55 gallon all aquatic setup except for a couple rocks poking out of the water just in case they need out of the water. They are doing fine and I only had a little aggression between two the first day but nothing since. I had done alot of researching before buying them and read that they normally live in streams with stronger currents so I was wondering if they prefer a current? I currenty have a couple sponge filters in the tank but I hooked up a powerhead rated at 165gph and tried it out. All three newts instantly popped out of caves and out from under plants and started walking all around. I'm not sure if they liked it or were trying to escape the current.

My labiatus definitely prefer a current, and from the sound of it, yours do to. You will be noticing that they will be out and about a lot more now and pretty soon they'll start begging for food. ;)

A bit of current would not be a problem for them, particularly if they have hides where they can be out of the current if they choose. Be vigilant about the effect of the powerhead on tank temperature, however. It is sure to heat the water more than the sponge filters (assuming you run the sponges from an air pump).

A bit of current would not be a problem for them, particularly if they have hides where they can be out of the current if they choose. Be vigilant about the effect of the powerhead on tank temperature, however. It is sure to heat the water more than the sponge filters (assuming you run the sponges from an air pump).