Help with tank reading please

kclinton

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Karrie Clinton
I thought my new tank was cycled . But my tank reading are nitrate 10 pmm nitrite 0 ppm ammonia .50 ppm. I set up the new tank cycled it and got 3 new axolotls. When they grow bigger I will put them in the big tank. They are under 3 inches long right now and in a 20 gal. long. All the readings were fine till i put them. Is it that they put to much bio load in the tank to fast? I have been doing water changes every day to try and keep the levels down. It is a bare bottom tank. I clean up all the left over food and poo. Temp is around 60 deg. I'am also going to get some live plants. Any help or ideas would be great.

When you say your tank was cycled what were your readings then? This level of ammonia isn't a drastic change, I don't think. I'm no expert but I would say keep on with the 20% changes every day and keep an eye on the ammonia and nitrate levels. To me it seems you haven't a very high nitrate level, perhaps this is because you have only just finished cycling the tank so the nitrate hasn't built up. Perhaps putting the axolotls in such a freshly cycled tank just tipped the balance.

If I thinking right they were Ammonia was 0 nitrite was 0 and nitrate was vary low if not 0. Have have grow up with fish tanks all my life. I was thinking they just tipped the balance. i was do ing 50% every day. Is that to much? Do you think the live plant's will help?

Hi kclinton,

I am inclined to think your tank has cycled or is very near the end of cycling due to the presence of nitrates.

I am not surprised that you would have some ammonia reading upon placing your axolotls in the tank. They excrete nitrogenous wastes not only via the cloaca (poop) but also via their gills and skin. Furthermore, three axolotls at once would be like a factory churning out wastes constantly.