Baby Fire Belly Newts

sammymanta

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Hi everyone. I am new to this page and have a question. I have had fire belly newts for years and to my amazement, they have laid eggs. I have read some stuff online but still looking for exact direction. I have removed the eggs from the adult tank. I know that they will form into larvae...then what? I have set up a new tank for them with some water and some land. They are still covered in the gel stuff and some haven't turned into larvae yet. What do I do? Do I put the eggs in the water part of the new tank or land part? When will I know to start feeding them? Can someone guide me thru this stage? I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks

For the moment, they need to be in water. They will not need ANY land for the next several months. Here's a rough sequence of events:
eggs is laid
~3 weeks later it hatches into gilled larva ("tadpole")
~3 months later it goes through metamorphosis into a miniature newt

During the egg and larva stage, they need only water. During metamorphosis, they need land on which to climb out. After metamorphosis, they need to be kept either fully terrestrial (think terrarium, not aquarium) ~or~ in a very shallow semi-aquatic setup.

See:
http://www.caudata.org/cc/articles/raising.shtml

1) the eggs should be placed in a fully aquatic environment.
2) raise some brineshrimp to feed the larvae after they hatched. You willl need a brineshrimp breeding chamber, a small air pump tube to change water, a syringe will help you start off the tube for water change. Syringe with a tube connected can be used to remove brineshrimp from the chamber. Then you will need a very fine fish net to filter the salt water and the shrimp, before feeding the larvae with the shrimp.
3) You will see the larvae get bigger, as they grew large enough, you may start feeding them with bloodworm (forzen bloodworm need to be fed with tweezer.) You may consider feeding other type of live small aquatic invertebrate.