Question: Cloudy Tank

Raggamuffin

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I'm new to keeping Axolotl's and I'm finding that over the last week or two that my tank has started to become cloudy.

My tank set up is:
Tank size - 60cm x 30cm x 30cm (holds about 60 litres)
Has a fine sand base,
A few plastic plants, and a live plant,
A big stone and an ornamental dinosaur

I've attached a picture as well.

I've been cleaning the filter out every other day and finding alot of gunk and stuff in it. I haven't done a full tank change yet (I've been doing about 10 Litres once a week.) and was wondering if this would help with the situation? Obviously I'd have to leave the water to rest for a few days somewhere before I changed it. I've been feeding Zak and Miri every other day, a little block or two of bloodworms or Daphnia. I'm wondering if this is too often? I tend to look at thier stomachs to see if it's darker or not.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Attachments

• 09032009106.jpg
    09032009106.jpg
    69.9 KB · Views: 1,281
hi
how long has your tank been set up for? How large are your axolotls? I wonder if maybe your filter isn't sufficient, as cleaning that daily suggests maybe it isn't. Like your set up though.

I've had the tank set up since the start of January, the axies are about 5 inches big now.

Whenever I'm feeding them, they seem to be eating everything within the day and are pretty active. I've got a bit of tubing that I used when I do my clean to suck up any waste or anything laying around the bottom so I don't think it's that.

What are your tank levels? When my tanks get a ammonia spike they get cloudy.

Hi Raggamuffin,

I believe the water cloudiness is atrributed to a combination of things.