Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

please help!

sib

Reaction score
hey, im looking after my friends axolotl (boris) for two weeks while shes on holiday. the problem is im pretty new to the 'world of axolotl' and i dont really know whats normal behaviour and whats not. today is the third day ive had him and also the most active he has been. my main concerns are that he seems to be floating towards the top of the tank and also towards the filter. I'd like to know if its okay to turn the filter off and that he would still be okay. also i was woken up by him this morning to what sounded like him jumping out of the water and falling back in, is this normal? my friend never mentioned any of these things to me and i dont know weather to be worried or not! thanks alot! x

ianclick

Reaction score
Hi Sib,

Axolotls are quite inactive most of the time. When they are not they do things like you have described. Floating up to the surface is quite normal. I would not turn the filter off.

Sounds like you are doing a great job. Keep posting here if you have any questions or doubts.

Good Luck

axolotl86

Reaction score
My axolotl floats towards the filter quite often because food swirls around that area. I don't think it's anything to worry about. Axies are strange little creatures who sometimes float when the mood takes them. The only warning sign that comes to mind involves floating towards the filter because the oxygen concentration is higher near the outtake flow, (meaning possible water quality issues in the tank). But most likely this is just a little axie quirk. As for the jumping up sounds, axies makes quite a slurp when they eat. Maybe this is what you are hearing.