Aragonite Sand???

Starfreak7

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello-

I'm new to owning an axototl. I had him in a bare bottom tank, but heard that over time that can be stressful to them. So, I went to the pet store to get some sand for his tank. I obviously was out of my league when looking at all of the types of sand that where there. The co-workers at the store were of no help. Finally, I decided on getting the smallest grain sand there was. I figured that would be best in case he swallowed some. It turned out to be Aragonite sand. I didn't realize until after I set it up that it is mainly meant for saltwater tanks (something not mentioned on the bag). I guess that this type of sand can raise the PH of the tank. I just took a PH of the water and it was between the 7.0 and 7.5 range, but I'm not sure if this will raise over time.

Also, the water was very cloudy at first. I did several water changes and also let it filter overnight. It's pretty clear now, but still a little cloudy.

So...I have 2 questions:

Is aragonite sand bad to use in an axolotl tank?

and

How soon after adding the sand can I put him back in the tank?

If anyone has some experience or information on these questions, your help is greatly appreciated.

...had him in a bare bottom tank, but heard that over time that can be stressful to them...

Many axolotl keepers use bare bottomed tanks. (Personally, I have been using them for many years without issue) Where stress comes into play in this scenario is a combination of a lack of hides and too much bright lighting.

Aragonite sand is a naturally occurring form of Calcium Carbonate. In the case of your bag, it is most likely from a marine coral source. This will cause extremely high water hardness levels. Adding it to a new tank will cause a sudden increase in hardness, which will damage your tank's ammonia cycle.

While axolotls like their water cold and hard, too hard can be just as stressful as too warm.