Some salamandra Questions

Hooky87

Reaction score
Country
England
As i am new to keeping salamandra i was looking for someone to give me some answers to some questions i have about these stunning salamanders.My first question is about the toxins of these animals, how strong are they and does it vary between subspeices.
The next is about the subspeices fastuosa, i am slightly confused do all fastuosa give birth to live young or do some have larvae, also what other members of this faamily give birth to live young.
I am also interested to know are the red/orange forms of some subspeices a form of selective breeding or do these animals occour in the wild.
Thanks in advance

Matt

Well, the toxin itself is very powerful, but the quantities in which the animal secretes it are relatively small. As long as it doesn´t come in contact with blood or mucus there should be no effects, except maybe a little irritation if the skin is particularly sensitive. If swallowed it can lead to numbness, and i think it can even cause temporary blindness if it touches the eyes(not too sure about this).
Bare in mind that this animals only secrete the toxin as a defense, and it´s visible(it´s milky white), so it can be avoided.
It´s advisable to wash your hands after handling these animals even if there was no visible poison, just in case.

I have no knowledge of variations of toxin strength between subespecies but i´m pretty sure there must be.

Not all fastuosa give birth to morphed juveniles..in fact i think most populations reproduce in the typical way, by releasing larvae in water masses. The live bearing behaviour is most common in S.s.bernardezi, which might look remarkably like fastuosa...and it´s easy to misidentify.

The red/orange colouration occurs naturally. Apparently high altitudes favour the presence of red individuals...
I´m not quite sure what causes it though, or if it can be selectively bred. I hope someone brings some light about this.