Question: Need a little cycling help/advice!

bitenomnom

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Amanda
Hello, I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to aquariums (meaning...I haven't had one since I had goldfish when I was little!). I am making way for an axolotl (maybe two) in a 10-gallon tank. I read up everything I could and started cycling, although initially I had a bit of a misconception on cycling -- I didn't realize I needed to add ammonia/an ammonia source!

By the time I had gotten some ammonia the tank had been running for about 3-4 weeks (I was gone on vacation most of that time). I added a bit of ammonia, and after reading a bit more decided I needed to bump the level up a bit more (it was at 3ppm after the first add, and added more until it was around 5-6ppm) a couple days later -- yesterday.

But today I started to become concerned. You see, I had bought "clear ammonia" and didn't realize that a surfactant was a soap until doing some further reading today! However, in my reading I was also given the impression that the surfactant would cause cycling troubles.

Here's the thing -- the cycling seems to be going great -- even faster than I expected. Nitrites are already on the rise, and even some nitrates, after I got the ammonia up yesterday (it was down to around 3 again today -- but they're just the test strips, so it's hard to tell -- I have liquid tests on the way to me right now).

A couple of individual stories I have read up on indicate no problems with surfactants, but I figured they are probably in the minority since most of what I see is more along the lines of "No, don't do it!!" (And might be specific to a particularly hardy type of fish, or something.)

I do not have any live plants. I do have an air stone. Substrate is sand.

My questions: