Greetings from Pennsylvania

distefan

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi everyone!

I've been an avid reading member since October 2008, but this is my first post. I am married with 3 children and we live in southeastern Pennsylvania, not far from Philadelphia. Although I now live in a highly developed suburban area, I grew up in much more rural circumstances and developed an intense interest in wetlands. My interest in salamanders follows that. I am most interested in locally native species and currently keep 3 notos (n.v.v.) in eft stage, though I suspect at least one will be in the water soon. I've put up an album of priceless snaps of the cuties for everyone to ogle.

When I am not caring for family & newts and not reading on caudata.org, I am a graduate student in Anthropology, specializing in Historical Archaeology. So, as you can tell, I like to get both wet and dirty :D Needless to say, my husband thinks both are "icky.":rolleyes:

Looking forward to being a little more communicative, now that my workload has slacked off a bit. This is a great community!

Welcome aboard!

I hope you'll excuse me; but I heard mention of an album of priceless cuties and I have to look...:D

Thanks for the welcomes and nice comments! :proud:

My very first pets were fingerling bass, bullheads, etc.--whatever baby game fish the folks who supplied my parents with bait for icefishing would save for me. I "played" with notos, both efts and aquatic, when we went camping, but never had any as pets.

These guys are not liking the heat too much and are hiding lots more in their little mossy caves, though they come out quickly at feeding time (typical teenagers). We have a/c, but it still gets into the low-mid 70s in the house, and since the tank is in the living room, they get what everyone else gets. Not bad yet, but I have ice bottles at the ready just in case.