Just sharing

katepc

Reaction score
Country
New Zealand
I'm pretty new to posting on the forum but have been reading for some time.

Just wanted to share about my axy babies because all my friends are sick of hearing about them and none of them are axy people so they really don't get it.

Babies are coming up on seven weeks old, all wildtypes, 5-6cm and trying to eat other's feet. I have about a hundred left after the big cull. (I cried. I admit it - but there were 300 of them...) This is my first attempt at raising axies, and it's been a bit of a learning curve. I've lost one baby a few days after the cull - everyone else is eating and growing and doing cute axy stuff. Back legs are almost fully grown on some of the bigger larvae.

In other news, nine days ago their dad Daisy was attacked by his tankmate who did serious damage to his right front leg. I was worried about fungal infection, but tank temp was stable at 9 degrees (middle of winter here), and he was eating fine, so I removed his tankmate, blacked out his tank, gave him a couple of salt baths when his foot started to look fuzzy and left him to it. He is now moving the leg normally again, and the skin has sloughed off the foot to show what I think could be his toe bones. He's still eating fine, alert and back to his normal friendly self. The original wound is healing over. We had a couple of stressful days but I'm pretty sure he's well on the mend.

So all in all, I'm feeling pretty buzzed this week. There's never a dull moment with axies in the house.

Crikey, 100 babies! What are you feeding them? What type of axies are the Mum and Dad? Can you see what colour the babies are going to be yet?

Sounds like you've got your hands full.

I guess you thought Daisy was a girl!! Good news about Daisy's leg, sounds like you've got it all under control.

Congratulations on the babies, keep us updated about them. We LOVE to hear about axolotls here!