Newt and Salamander Art?

caudatadude28

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
AJ
I wonder how many people draw pictures of newts and sals or anything else for that matter. I draw occasionally. I think I am a OK artist but not that great. Anyways I have some pics of my art in my album. If you draw in your spare time post it!

I have done paintings of sals, etc. in the past. I've done:

Ambystoma jeffersonianum
Plethodon caddoensis
Aneides aeneus
Dendrobates azureus

Been thinking about doing some more. I'm a semi-professional artist. I say semi because even though I show and sell my art I still have a day job from which I earn 95% of my living. My caudate paintings are not my best work. Many were done when I was much younger and/or relearning how to paint. I could probably do a much better job if I were to try again.

Don't know how well these links will work but here goes:
http://th09.deviantart.net/fs9/300W/i/2006/025/a/3/Ambystoma_Jeffersonianum_by_Saturns_Eye.jpg
http://th05.deviantart.net/fs9/300W/i/2006/025/b/f/Aneides_Aeneus_by_Saturns_Eye.jpg
http://th08.deviantart.net/fs14/300W/f/2007/019/1/3/Dendrobates_Azureus_by_Saturns_Eye.jpg

The P. caddoensis was destroyed before I bothered to take pictures of it.

Thanks, one of these days I'll do some more. It would be especially good since I'm not keeping any caudates anymore that I could just paint the ones I want instead of getting the real thing, lol.

I don't have any caudate art scanned up but since we seem to have a few very talented illustrators I wonder if anyone would be willing to critique this color pencil.

Vermillion Rockfish(Sebastes miniatus). Color washed a bit by the flash. This was my first serious attempt at color penciling something and although I did make a few mistakes it is tempting to buy a set of more expensive pencils to play with. Maybe over break during a time when school is not so overwhelming haha.
IMG_2967.jpg

IMG_2992.jpg