I Have a Filter Question?

groldigger

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hey, I just got my first axolotl yesterday and I already love him. I am eager to give him the best home i can and it is almost making my paranoid. I have a rather small tank I think and it is a bit of an odd size (50cmx28cmx28cm). Those dimensions are only rough. Now my concern is the filter i was told to purchase. I have a HL-BT400 Internal Filter. The guy at the shop told me this should work fine but I understand that axies hate strong water flow. The output from this filter is not adjustable and it has a flow rate of 380L/H. Is this too strong for my axolotl? (keeping in mind my tank is only 50cm long). I cannot tell if my axolotl is happy or not because i am kind of new to this all. I am worried that the tip of his tail is curled and apparently that is a sign of stress from excessive water flow. Please let me know if i should change the filter.

Also, considering that filters are not essential when keeping an axolotl would i be able to switch mine off every night. The noise it makes is keeping my parents awake. Maybe if i do that i will just have to change his water more frequently.

Re: Is the filter too strong?

Hi

Does the filter have a flow control??
If so, try and turn it down.
Or, if you can make a spray bar.

A peice of hose with holes in it that is attached to the out-> of your filter...
Google DIY aquarium spraybar.
(Great lil project :) )
If not, i would suggest taking it back, and ask for a store credit.
I prefer canister filters myself, maybe possibly something you could look into.
But before you do that, I would suggest that you maybe get a bigger tank before getting a canister filter.

Hope some of that helps

Aaron

I had to google this filter to see what it looks like. Does yours have a spray bar, as shown here:
http://www.hailea.com/e-hailea/product1/HL-BT400.htm