Question: How many axoltls can i keep in my new tank?

bowser

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi people, I am very new to these creatures but I think they look, well, cute, so I have gone and got a tank. It's only 2 X 1 X 1 but that's all I have the room for, because I already have a 4foot vivarium for my beardy, and a 25gal tank for my tropical fish, and I live at my girlfriends house (don't want her mother to get to angry with me filling the house with creatures).

So my questions are...

1. How many babys could a 2 X 1 X 1 tank hold? (please say 2. I don't want 1 to get lonely)
  2. I have large pebbles around 1" in diameter for substrate - is this ok?
  3. I have a Fluval U1 filter - this is ok isn't it?
  4. Where the tank is it is quite dark but I have brought some small stick on LED lights, will they be too bright for them? Or don't they mind being in the dark?

Last edited by a moderator:
I reccomend 0.

You are living at your girlfriends parents house. If you even suspect that her mother MIGHT be SLIGHTLY annoyed with your "critters" than don't buy more.

LOL not helpful :rolleyes:

But my girlfriend wants them aswell so we are fine to have them :lick:

Even still your tank sounds to small for 2. I've only ever owned Oregon newts, but I think these guys are about the same size + tempermant. Your tank sounds like it would be pretty cramped with 2.

Hi people, I am very new to these creatures but i think they look well cute so i have gone and got me a tank its only 2 X 1 X 1 but thats all i have the room for, cuz i already have a 4foot vivarium for my beardy and a 25gal tank for my tropical fish and i live at my girlfriends house (dont want her mother to get to angry with me filling the house with creatures)

So my questions are...

1. How many babys could a 2 X 1 X 1 tank hold? (plz say 2 i dont want 1 to get lonely)
  2. I have large pebbles around 1" in diameter for substrate is this ok?
  3. I have a Fluval U1 filter this is ok aint it?