Im new at this! so help

ItzChow

Reaction score
Country
United States
Today i finally got my firbellies, got 2 i think their newt, cus they still small and baby size, i saw them at the petshop, and tey were WC catch, i live in NY almost no one breed them here. I put 2 in a 10 gallon tank, with 2 very small neons, a typical fish. And when i feed my newt for the first time, i put the frozen bloodworms in a small cup, and they came and ate the worms that came out around the cup but not in the cup. Anyone have any idea why they not eating the worms inside the cup? i put half of the cube in the cup, so it should be a good amount, but they just wont eat the one inside the cup but tey scavanger hunt for the one outside, they even fight for it =.=. If anyone got any idea would be great! hehe. :rofl:

Being that they are new to the setup and WC they are not use to eating out of the cup. If it is very swallow cup they will probably learn that there is food in there much faster. I would be patient and continue to put food in and around the cup and eventually the newts will come to understand cup = food.

On a side note, I see you have a couple neons in with the newts. I would watch the fish closely. Fish have a tendency to nip at the newts which can cause stress. Along with this they will eat the food given to the newts. I assume you don't use a heater for your neons correct?

Mitch