Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Question: New to newts!!!

si

Reaction score
Hi, im new to newt keeping. It's also my 1st post on caudata! I have one or two questions if anyone could help.

Im looking at getting some newts (hopefully a colourfull species like eastern, but if not probably firebellies) and have a tank (2 feet X 1 foot X 1 foot) and was wondering if four newts would be a good number? Ive currently got aquarium pebbles whichcould possibly be swallowed, should i use sand instead?

Ive been reading up on keeping newts and can't find any ways of keeping the tank cool (other than attaching a frozen bottle inside the tank.) Does anyone know any other method or equipent i could use?

Finaly, im wanting to keep eastern newts, but i can't seem to find any breeders or exotic pet stores (pet stores being a last resort) that sell them! Im from Halifax in West Yorkshire (England) but would be prepared to travel!!

Any help would be much appreciated!! Thankyou. :D

ItzChow

Reaction score
England huh? Im pretty sure in the damp forest or some pond area would have. But i wouldnt recommend you to catch one thats WC( wild caught) Try looking at the sale section or post a thread on the wanted section. Im sure theres alot of people in england that have these pets. Or ask someone to ship you some CB( captive breed) =) Good luck!

Azhael

Site Contributor
Reaction score
First off let me congratulate you for researching and setting things up before acquiring the animals, that´s the way to go.
I recomend sand over gravel, not just because of the risk of impaction, but also because gravel traps dirt in huge quantities.