Separating Fry

stephi

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hi everyone,
Just wondering when people felt the best time to begin separating fry was? Some of my 30 odd fry are beginning to develop front limb buds, and i am tossing up as to begin separating them out.

Also, is there any rule as to the ratio of fry to water? Any suggestions as to how many liters of water per fry?

This is my first time rearing fry and i want to get it right!! Currently they are housed in a small glass tank with approximately 10L, of which about 80% of the water is changed daily (I'm feeding bbs). Due to the frequency of the water changes the water is not particularly stable, although ph is maintained at around 7.2 and ammonia, nitrite and nitrate are tested daily with no considerable readings (im assuming this is because the water is not cycling). Any other suggestions? The only losses i have had were 3 'mutant' fry, which had considerable kinks in their spines.

Sorry about the length of this post, and thank you for your time!!

Again thanks,

Stephi

Hiya
I start separating mine when they are looking different in size. Not sure of how may fry per amount of water i just see what looks ok to be honest. Not too overcrowded all similar sizes.

Sorry i'm not much help but i'm sure someone with more experience will be on to give you more help.

Mel

As Melfly said above, I just use common sense! Sorry, I hope that doesn't sound rude!

When the larvae are really small you don't need to worry too much about how many are together (as long as it's not TOO overcrowded).

I agree with Melfly, once there are noticable size differences you need to start separating them. I tended to use small (1 litre?) ice cream tubs with just 2 or 3 axolotl larvae to each tub. But if you are raising a lot of larvae, that's a lot of tubs! Bear in mind that the larvae need to be literally swimming in food when they're small, so smaller containers will mean a higher concentration of food. What are you feeding yours?