Help!

Aussie Rach

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hi again,

Some of you may have read my question about nitrite, ammonia and nitrate in the tanks forum.
If not, I'm a teacher and have an axolotl, Olive as a classroom pet and have one at home called Charlie. The tank at school has been set up between 4-8 weeks and I cannot get the nitrite/ ammonia/ nitrate under control.

I ended up taking Olive out of the tank at school and bringing her home to put in the tank with my other axle, Charlie. I did this because on Friday I noticed she floated on the top all day, not swimming around at all. I know sometimes Charlie likes to float in the plants, but not all day. So I was very worried as her gills are also still really shrunken looking.

So I put her in with Charlie, but Charlie was not happy with the situation at all. It really showed me what a bad way Olive is in though, when I could see her compared to Charlie. She looks a lot thinner all over, and even when she was on the bottom of the tank, the middle of her body seemed to be floating, as if she had to really try to 'sink'. Anyway, I thought her and Charlie had become accustomed to one another, but alas Charlie has now bitten a piece from the end of Olive's tail. Poor Olive :( I feel so horrible as I don't know how to help her.

When I saw what Charlie had done, I thought it would be best to fridge Olive.

So she is in the fridge at the moment.

I'm at a bit of a loss for what to do next though, I'm working on getting her tank's water parameters ok so I can return her to her tank, but any ideas why the floating? Is this an effect of the nitrite/nitrate in her water?

Thanks, Rachel

Hey Rachel,

I'm no expert and I'm new here but I can suggest you work on Olive's weight problem first. Feed her every second or third day so she can regain her lost weight and give her health a boost.