Tank, filter and rearing. Help a newbie?

Stumpy

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Display Name
Mt Waverley
Hi all, I'm new to the entire enterprise of hosting aquatic pets, but have been digging through this forum and have found it to be very friendly and informative :)

Next week I'm purchasing a 3ft tank with an undergravel filter, an aquarium near me is moving and i simply can't refuse this price :D
Is an undergravel filter appropriate for axies? I want to use it just till I can get some of the cycling under way, I will eventually change the filter because later I want to use black sand as a substrate. So what's your best recommendation? (Think cheaper here, student wages whut 0_0)

Which leads to the second question, if I want to change my filter, can I just rip it out and put the other one in? I understand that I'm ideally trying to cultivate these little ammonia and nitrate munching bacteria, and I'm just a bit worried if I remove my filter I'll be removing a large portion of them :/

I also want to keep guppies with my axie, is it all right if during the cycling period I introduce them to the tank? I won't be adding my axie to this tank until it's all finished, so I thought maybe it could double as the guppie's quarantine? Seeing as both those periods work for about a month, and a couple of guppies producing ammonia should at least provide the bacteria with a small food source to grow on.