Question: Red Fire Bellied Newts

Emmerish

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Heya,

I am a true newbie. I am looking to buy a couple of Red Fire Bellied Newts, I have the tank all set up and it has been for a week now. I've read alot about keeping them and would say I'm quite confident in doing a good job.

However I went to the pet shop 2 days ago to buy the newts and one of the women working there has told me the tank has to stand for at least eight weeks before she will sell them to me. Now I'm confused. This isn't something I've come across while researching. Is she right? Do I need to let the tank stand for 8 weeks? What would the benefits be? I've read the water needs to stand for 48 hours to dechlorinate, which I've done. I hope someone can help.

Thanks a Bundle

Emma :happy:

8 weeks is very long. Don't know why it's said. Normaly 2 weeks is enough. In this time, bacteria can reproduce, but they also needs to feed. This is almost not possible when their are no higher animals in de tank (newts or fish). Until that time the biological balance isn't complete. I also uses shrimp and other little waterbugs who are harmless to newts, and a lot of plants.

But what specie do you mean with Red fire bellied newt...?

Regards Joost

8 weeks is a little on the longer side than it´s usually required for a tank to cycle, but it´s nonetheless good advice. A month is usually suficcient though. I´m surprised a pet-shop worker is even mentioning it.
Cycling the tank is very important, you can find information about this process in the links in my signature (the one marked care articles).