Do Newts shed? If not...

Tigerpuffer

Reaction score
Country
United States
This is a stupid question, but...
I was just cleaning out my Newts' tank (Chinese Firebelly, I know, I'm a newbie) when i found a long, clear strip of something. Upon closer inspection, it had the shape of a foot in it. And the only animals I have with feet are Newts. So do they shed, or is there anmother problem, and if so, what should I do for it?

I closely inspected all of the Newts' legs and found nothing visibly wrong...

This is a stupid question, but...
I was just cleaning out my Newts' tank (Chinese Firebelly, I know, I'm a newbie) when i found a long, clear strip of something. Upon closer inspection, it had the shape of a foot in it. And the only animals I have with feet are Newts. So do they shed, or is there anmother problem, and if so, what should I do for it?

I closely inspected all of the Newts' legs and found nothing visibly wrong...

Many species do shed. Often they eat it afterwards.

Shedding is natural,my firebeliies do it all the time but they usally eat the skin so im not sure why you found it

And the only animals I have with feet are Newts.
First off, LOL at the above...and you're sure about this?

Not to worry, newts do indeed shed as a regular part of growth. They can also shed as a sign of stress, but if your water parameters are all as they should be and you see no other signs of distress, I would say you're in the clear :happy:

Whoah, thanks for the help guys! For some reason I thought they didn't. I found the skin while feeding them. I feed them in a separate container because I find it easier for them to find it and it doesn't dirty up their tank.
So i figured one of them suffered an injury while being fed.

Thanks again for the info!