Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

We from long island come in peace

wpken

Reaction score
:D Hello as you can probably tell, im new to newts! I belive I am probably a bit young to want to head into the devotion of newt breeding, but as I thought about it today, geeze if i can keep my first couple of newts to full age ill be 45 :eek:!! ive got a 55 gal long waiting to be cleaned out and set up so i can bring some C. pyrrhogasters in and start off on something i believe will be a step in the right direction with my life, and all of you will help me along the way:p

petlover516

Reaction score
Welcome, fellow Long-Islander! In a 55, you can have about 12 C.phyrrogasters. That will be a well-enough number to start an entire breeding colony!

wpken

Reaction score
12TWELVE!? ohhhsnap! i was thinking about six, but then i can fill up with offspring! lol you just made me pretty happy saying 12, its also a long tank so that may be like two more but still twelve!? thanks for the welcome too

petlover516

Reaction score
Well you can have about 3 per 10gallons, so 12 would be Ok. the longer the tank the better, since height doesn't matter for most newts and salamanders.

wpken

Reaction score