Algerian fire salamander, Salamandra algira algira

greabo

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm luckily enough that my female has produced four larvae at the moment.Don't know if these were born live or hatched from eggs.Eggs have been produced,but I've never been able to hatch them.I wonder if these are trophic eggs.All larvae have "appeared" in water dish.Has any one bred this species before?

Basically I would like to know if anyone has experience breeding this particular species.

I have had no experience with algira I know Ben W has a pair he will be the best person to talk to hope that helps. did you get my pm

Matt

I think he's asking if the eggs were the result of a problem. Salamandra normally deposit larvae, not eggs. So deposition of dud eggs would presumably signify a problem with that particular batch.

Congratulations on the larvae.

The eggs are duds as Mark said...they will not hatch. They either were not fertilized or were aborted in the earlier stages of development for some reason.
4 larvae sounds like very little, watch out for more in the following days, as it´s possible that she will lay more.
This species is rarely bred, so it would be very interesting if you could share your experience and extend a bit on how you house them, what method did you use to condition them , ect.

By the way, it´s been described that developing larvae do indeed eat dud eggs. More surprisingly they also cannibalize younger larvae, so they eat both fertilized and unfertilized eggs. Since this is a species that can also produce fully formed, terrestrial juveniles, i wonder if the low number of offspring is related to this.

Good news!!!!
Algira algira produce aquatic larvae and algira tingitana generally produce fully formed terrestrial larvae.
Its not uncommon for a female in her first year or two of breeding to expell unfertilized eggs, along with a few larvae.