Really quite sad

kaylalouise

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hey everyone,

i am new to the world of axolotls and cant wait to get mine.

my bf and i have a habit of going to the pet store when ever we go shopping. and lately more and more axolotls have been popping up, maybe i just never noticed them before in the tanks.

but the conditions they are kept in are just atrocious.

the gravel is too small, its like normal fish gravel the tanks a bright with no hidey holes and the temperatures around around 26-28 degrees Celsius.

it really break my heart to seem them like this with hardly and gills =(

and i think the worst part is they all have info stickers on the tank informing the public that these are cold water animals and yet the water is so hot.

You may like to print out an information sheet on axie care from this site and give them a copy.

In many instances, the pet shop staff themselves are not fully equipped with the knowledge. It is not a conscious choice to house the axies like so.

Yeah, some pet stores don't know how to take care of axies.
I bought out all the axolotls in stock one time (total of 2) because they were all in small containers and the water temperature was at 80 degrees F.
I have one adult which I believe is a female and a younger one that I'm hoping is a male so I
can start a breeding project.

I was in my local pet store a week or two ago and they were in similar conditions as you've described... and filled with lots of fish. He looked like he was drugged as well - really sluggish movements, just trying to get out of the tank (in the corner of the tank trying to move up). Quite sad.