Illness/Sickness: Sick for about 12 hours

Kib0y

Reaction score
Country
United States
My developmental class is finally done for the semester and my professor gave away the experimental subjects (weeks old, green axolotl) for free, as pets. Here is the situation

I picked up my little guy healthy with a full belly (he was being fed live bryne shrimp) on Monday, December 14th (4 days ago). I put him in a 1 gallon tank with distilled water that I got from the biology department (I know it is distilled because I'm a research student there, so the source is good). I would say the little guy is roughly an inch in length. He was doing fine. I had a little problem trying to feed him small chunks of steak, so I switched him to frozen blood worms on Wednesday because it was clear he was hungry, just afraid of the tweezers I was using to try and feed him. He ate fine on Wednesday. I went to feed him yesterday and he seemed to be eating fine but I noticed he was snatching at the worms and them splitting them back out. I didn't take any consideration to this as sometimes it is normal, I read. I clean up the tank everytime after feeding as best as possible. The temperature of the water is currently 69 degrees F is stays roughly around that temperature most of the time.