Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Question: FBN eggs hatching

firefly

Reaction score
Hi. I'm new to keeping FBNs. I rec'd 5 eggs Thursday last from a breeder on RFUK. Today I looked & one seemed to be going a whitish colour. Thinking it could be going mouldy I thought I'd transfer it to another container on its own for a few days just to see. As I lifted the leaf out of the water the little larvae slipped out of the sac & fell back into original container. It's wriggling now and again but I can't see any white line (yolk) on its tummy so I'm worried now in case it will starve?

Any advice/help would be appreciated. Thanks :(

Greatwtehunter

Reaction score
I don't think you have to worry about it starving just yet. You could try putting alittle bit of live food in with it but I don't think it'd eat anyways for at least another day or two.

vistajpdf

Reaction score
Do you think you ripped the egg to cause it to hatch prematurely? I had that happen while trying to clip leaves to ship the eggs. One died a few days later, but the other was fine. The yolk sac is even visible in the egg depending on how the larva is lying. Get some live Daphnia ready and it should eat (will look like it's hopping) in a couple of days.

Good luck,
Dana

firefly

Reaction score