Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Trouble cycling

bunny27

Reaction score
Hey guys. I'm really new to cycling as I have never cycled before, even when I had my bettas, which were fine.

I currently have a baby axolotl that is 2 inches long in a 10 gallon tank and have read on the forum that it was okay to cycle a tank with an axolotl, but I would just have to be careful and change the water 20% daily.

Well, I have been doing that and testing my water. The ammonia was zero, but the Nitrite was really high like 0.2-0.5 ppm. I've been changing the water daily but it seems like the nitrite is still the same level.

Would the nitrite level irritate the baby axolotl? It seems to swim around a lot in the tank.

Would it be a good idea fridging the baby axie until the nitrite lowers? I haven't heard of people fridging baby axies, so I'm unsure if I can fridge a baby axie.

I have a larger axolotl in a 20 gallon tank and it had gotton fungus on its gills from my poor water quality so he's currently in the fridge as well. I don't want this to happen to the baby one.

If there are any advice about cycling and fridging, please tell me. It would help me out a lot. Thanks in advance!!!!!

melfly

Reaction score
If you remove the axolotl from the tank you remove the source of ammonia so the tank would stop cycling.
That amont of nitrite could irritate your axie.
Maybe try cycling without the axie in the tank using pure ammonia or food.
You could keep him in a container and do 100% water changes daily without having to fridge him (provided you can keep the tub temp low enough)

Are you salt bathing your fungused axie??

Mel

bunny27

Reaction score