Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Babies not eating...

JaiElBee

Reaction score
We currently have 2 baby Axolotls that have hatched and were wondering about feeding them.

We've got Daphnia and Brineshrimp ready to go and have tried both in with the babies but they don't seem to be interested.

They were both born Saturday (16th) morning.

When do they normally start feeding?

Also, the Brineshrimp are dying pretty fast when we put them in the freshwater tank the babies are in... Any way of making them last longer?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

MAXolotl

Reaction score
Im not an expert on baby axolotls but when they are first born they have a supply of nutrients in their stomachs. Once this has run out (could take a fair few hours) they will start searching for food. I would personally wait until they have starting feeding on daphnia (they don't die in fresh water) before adding any brineshrimp. This will keep the water cleaner. Hope I have been of help :happy:

melfly

Reaction score
Hiya
My babies usually feed within 24 hours.
Baby brine shrimp wont last long you need to be feeding at least once per day.
You will know when they've fed cause they will have orange bellies and you will notice them jumping. Its soo cute.
Daphnia will probably be too big.
I keep mine in small tubs so the food is concentrated and i can keep an eye on them.
Its also helps when changing the water. I do 100% daily water changes.
Mel

Norcinu

Reaction score
Hey, I just raised baby axololts myself :)