Question: Is this normal?

Axymoron

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hey,

I'm new to this forum and to keeping axolotls.. I've just bought 2 :D and they're all set up in a nice tank with 18 degree water, a slow running filter and correct water parameters. One of them has only got 2 feet :eek: as the other one bit them off I believe, I think she's female as her bump under the tail is non-existant (the other one has a massive bump so I believe this means male?) Apparently they grow back but I was wondering how long this takes and whether theres anything I can do to help her back into a fully functioning beastie? :eek:

Also, the male (white/pinky colour) has gills that stick out a lot whereas the girl's are laid back more - is this normal? :uhoh: I have no idea! He also swims around a lot more than the girl but I think this could just be because she has feet to respawn!

Any help would be great! I'm totally new to keeping these so I'm willing to take advice of experienced keepers!

Thanks,

Ellie :happy:

How big is the tank, and how big are they? Can you load pictures of the gill postures?

the tank is 90Litres and they are approx 5 inches long from nose to tail. However I have just been out and come back and the white one has attacked the black one again - not a feeding accident as they havent been fed today - and I'm concerned shes not going to be OK. What should I do? I paid £40 for the pair on Thursday afternoon and already one is dying :( I'm really upset :(

Hello, Welcome.
If they're only 5 inches they may still be quite young, nipping is something that one might grow out of.
You could ask the pet shop if they would take that one back.
Do you have some way of seperating them ie another tank or tub?
I have a gold who was a nipper right up until recently and he's about 23cm now.
I kept seperating him from the other two and he seems to be fine now.
Do you have plenty of hiding places for them?

Mel

Also what do you mean by not ok?