What to have

kdowell

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am a science teacher in the Houston area and have a 45L tank. I want to put a Caudata in the tank. I have gravel which I have built up out of the water on one end with a submerged pump. The water is returned to the other end, which will have around 6" of water. I am using the gravel as a filter. I would like to keep plants in it to keep nitrates low. I also raise red wigglers, Eisenia fetida, that I can use for food. What do you suggest I put in the tank that could live over spring break (with food stores) and be interesting to watch by my high school students. As a biologist, I find a lot of things in nature interesting that my students do not. The water is medium hard to hard, slightly alkaline and temp ~72 F. Tank has been cycled. Any suggestions would be helpful.

Hello kdowell,
you want to just put a newt in a tank that size? I think it's a waste when you could put at ease a little group of 3 to 5 as the kind that you will choose?
It's a look: Caudata Culture Species Database - Salamandridae (The genus Cynops is the best to start)
And here also: Caudata Culture Articles - Setups (I suggest you a fully aquatic tamk with only one escape)
By the way here: Caudata Culture Articles - Aquarium Substrates (Almost sand or sand is best)
I have helped!
Boa sorte!

I have found that all of the species I kept were interesting and hardy. I really enjoyed watching my Taricha torosa pair hunt around for food on their land areas. When I kept Triturus karelinii I got to see them performing their mating rituals, however your classroom will probably be too warm for them. I kept some Ambystoma and they did a lot of hiding in the dirt- so not as mush to pique interest for students possibly. My little paddle-tail was fun to watch but he was a dedicated escape artist as well. Be sure that you have a completely escape-proof setup.