Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Question: What age Axolotl to buy

phoenixlady8

Reaction score
I'm new to hobby of keeping Axolotl's and am curious what would be a good age Axie to start off with. They seem pretty hardy (compared to my saltwater corals) and to think that I don't have to turn 1200 gallons of water per hour makes me really happy!

Your opinions are greatly appreciated.

1. best age for a newbie keeper
2. best species
3. best place to buy
4. space requirement formula? (1" of Axie per gallon)

Thanks all

~Laurey

Shizeric

2010 Research Grant Donor
Reaction score
1. Age is all up to what you desire in an axie. A juvenile will require more frequent feedings, usually of bloodworms, or smaller food. They require daily feedings, as opposed to an adult that will feed mainly on earthworms every other day or twice weekly.
2. Species? All axolotls are the same species. There are a variety of color variations, so it's up to your own desires on what you are looking for.
3. You can find plenty of axies on the FS: USA section of this website, and a lot of people will speak highly of the quality animals they receive. You can also occasionally find axies for sale in pet stores, but it's hard to be sure of the health and condition of these.
4. An adult axolotl can grow over a foot, so most people say the absolute MINIMUM for 1 axolotl is a 10 gallon tank. The larger the tank the better, and when it comes to axies, a larger base is much more important than a tall tank.

BBJ

2010 Research Grant Donor
Reaction score